2014-2015 MTNA NATIONAL COMPETITIONS GEORGIA REPRESENTATIVES

MTNA COMPETITIONS: NATIONAL LEVEL

The 2014-2015 MTNA Performance Competitions was held in March in Las Vegas, Nevada. The results of the 2014-2015 MTNA Composition Competitions are as follows:

SENIOR COMPOSITION

Second Place

Luka Marinkovic

Jeannine Morrison

CHAMBER MUSIC STRINGS

Second Place

Columbus String Quartet Sophie Wang, Violin McClaran Hayes, Violin Mario Rivera, Viola John Rogler, Cello Boris Abramov

MTNA COMPETITIONS: SOUTHERN DIVISION LEVEL

The 2014-2015 MTNA Southern Division Performance Competitions was held in January in Knoxville, TN. The results of the 2014-2015 MTNA Composition Competitions are as follows:

CHAMBER MUSIC STRINGS

Winner	Columbus String Quartet	Boris Abramov
	Sophie Wang, Violin	
	McClaran Hayes, Violin	
	Mario Rivera, Viola	
	John Rogler, Cello	
	C ·	

CHAMBER MUSIC WINDS

Winner

Milk

Connie Frigo

Gabriel Pique, Soprano Saxophone Michael Turner, Alto Saxophone Brandon Quarles, Tenor Saxophone Shawna Pennock, BariSaxophone

COMPOSITION

SENIOR CATEGORY Winner

Luka Marinkovic

Jeannine Morrison

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Honorable Mention Brandon Dicks

Matthew McCabe

BRASS PERFORMANCE SENIOR CATEGORY Winner	Allison Webb , Horn	Anna Dodd
STRING PERFORMANCE JUNIOR CATEGORY Alternate	Phoebe Liu, Violin	Sonja Foster
SENIOR CATEGORY Honorable Mention	Goeun Sim, Violin	Sergiu Schwartz
VOICE PERFORMANCE YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY AlternateMichelle DeBruyn		
WOODWIND PERFORMANCE YOUNG ARTIST CATEG Winner	ORY Gabriel Pique, Saxophone	Connie Frigo

MTNA COMPETITIONS: STATE LEVEL

The 2014-2015 MTNA State Performance Competitions were held on November 3-6 at Clayton State University under the supervision of David George, VP for MTNA Competitions. There were 95 total entrants participating. There were 89 solo entrants, 1 piano duet, and 5 chamber ensembles in the Performance Competitions. There were 5 entrants in the composition category. State Coordinators were Cynthia DeFoor, Junior Coordinator, Renee Holliman, Senior Coordinator, Carol Payne, Young Artist Coordinator, and Emma Pettyjohn, Chamber Music Coordinator. Jane Lester was the State Composition Coordinator. The results of the Competitions are as follows:

CHAMBER MUSIC STRINGS Winner Alternate	Columbus String Quartet Arch Trio	Boris Abramov Levon Ambartsumian
CHAMBER MUSIC WINDS Winner Alternate	Milk Bulldog Brass Society	Connie Frigo Josh Bynum
COMPOSITION JUNIOR CATEGORY Representative	Emilie Vu	Gayle Vann
SENIOR CATEGORY Winner Honorable Mention	Luka Marinkovic Grace Packard	Jeannine Morrison Mary Katherine Morris

YOUNG ARTIST CATED Winner Honorable Mention	GORY Brandon Dicks Dalton Daniel	Matthew McCabe Richard Mason
BRASS PERFORMANCE SENIOR CATEGORY Representative	Allison Webb	Anna Dodd
YOUNG ARTIST CATEO	GORY	
Winner Alternate	Jacob Reeves Kenn Schoeller	Josh Bynum Josh Bynum
PIANO PERFORMANCE JUNIOR CATEGORY		
Winner Alternate Honorable Mention Honorable Mention Honorable Mention	Yannie Tan Yuy Hsiang Robert Jeon Kevin Chen Laura Zhang	Alexander Kobrin Shu-chuan Hsiang Soohyun Yun Anne Sun Ping-Yun Hsu
SENIOR CATEGORY Winner Alternate Honorable Mention Honorable Mention Honorable Mention	Jewon Hwang Hye Ri Bae Laura Street Dain Song Hideto Mori	Elena Cholakova Anatoly Sheludyakov Nancy Elton Lois Finlay Edith Schiff
YOUNG ARTIST CATED Winner Alternate Honorable Mention Honorable Mention	GORY Ekaterina Logvinyuk Shanshan Xie Crystal Wu Audra Loyd	Alexander Kobrin Alexander Kobrin Richard Zimdars Joanne Polk
SENIOR PIANO-DUET Representative	Connie Xiao & Jennifer Zou	Lois Finlay
STRING PERFORMANCE JUNIOR CATEGORY		
Winner Alternate Honorable Mention	Phoebe Liu Richard Lee Richard Cho	Sonja Foster Levon Ambartsumian Sonja Foster
SENIOR CATEGORY Winner Alternate Honorable Mention	Goeun Sim Annette Jakovcic Larone Koonce	Sergiu Schwartz Wendy Warner Sonja Foster

Honorable Mention

Yen Hsiang

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Winner Alternate Honorable Mention Weiru Sheng Elzbieta Tokarska Maxwell Frank Shu-Chuan Hsiang

Sergiu Schwartz Sergiu Schwartz Wendy Warner

VOCAL PERFORMANCE

SENIOR CATEGO		
Winner	Adam Rodgers	C Earl Coleman
Alternate	Katie Tiemeyer	Rebekah Healan

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Winner	Ashley Seldon	Michelle DeBruyn
Alternate	Julie Burns	Michelle DeBruyn
Honorable Mention	Elston Peacock	C Earl Coleman

WOODWIND PERFORMANCE

Winner Alternate Honorable Mention Gabriel Piqué Brandon Quarles Alexander Clay Connie Frigo Connie Frigo Andree Martin